Seoul Searching

I spent this past summer studying abroad at Ewha Womans University (이화여자대학교) in Seoul, South Korea. It was only my second time in Korea; I cherish every single day I spent there. As a Korean-American, the lines were blurry: I wasn’t Korean enough to be Korean, yet I wasn’t foreign enough to, well, not be Korean. Albeit this cultural mystery, I deeply miss being there and hope to go back soon. In the meantime, these photos are what I use to keep my Seoul Searching spirit alive.

According to Ewha’s official homepage,”Ewha, meaning ‘pear blossom’ deserves its name of a flower.” I think I miss this Snapchat filter more than the campus itself (ba dum tss). In all seriousness, Ewha is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful college campuses in the world. I would love to see its rich foliage change throughout the seasons.

img_3045

Here is a very obligatory, peace sign-filled photo at the LINE Friends store in Myeongdong (명동). This guy was beary cute in real life, fur sure.

img_3046

I remember one of my goals in Korea was to try every type of Bing-su (빙수) on the Seolbing (설빙) menu. Bing-su is BOMB… literally Korea’s greatest invention. Seolbing, a specialty Korean Dessert Cafe, is so popular that LA’s Koreatown attempted to open its own (cheekily named Sul & Beans). 

img_3436

I took 2 courses at Ewha, one of which was Korean history. Our class took a field trip to Gyeongbokgung (경복궁) Palace, the main palace built during the Joseon Dynasty. The grounds are incredibly extensive, filled with picturesque landscapes and various museums. I truly believe this palace is the perfect date location.

img_3445

Let’s turn a new leaf together 😉

Speaking of dates, Korea sells some of the most beautiful flower arrangements, many of which can be found in local marketplaces and cute street alley shops. I had never seen so many color variations of my favorite flower, baby’s breaths, in one place (right).

img_4462

Here is the last photo I took at Ewha with my roommate (left) from Singapore. One of the coolest parts about Ewha’s International College is the diversity of the student body. My roommate was the absolute best, and I hope we cross paths again soon!

And with that, I conclude my look back at my summer adventure in Korea. I think studying abroad has made me realize there is so much traveling to be done! Adventure awaits, I wonder what’s next?

xoxo,
KJK

Leave a Reply

